University of Edinburgh
St Cecilia’s Hall: Concert Room and Music Museum

Anna Stegmann (recorder), Eva Saladin (violin), Agnieszka Oszanca (cello) and Andrea Friggi (harpsichord)

With Proper Graces – Corelli’s Opus 5 as a source of inspiration

Sonatas and Trios by A. Corelli, Handel, Barsanti, Veracini and Albicastro

Part of the Sypert Series of Early Music Concerts


In accordance with current Government and University guidance, audience members are encouraged to wear face coverings (unless medically exempt).

Programmes may be subject to last minute changes.


When Arcangelo Corelli published his twelve violin sonatas Op. 5 on January 1st 1700—perhaps quite a symbolic date—it quickly became a best-seller. It was soon reprinted several times across Europe and arranged for other instruments. By the fourth reprint the first six sonatas da camera featured additional ornaments, also called “graces,” claimed to have been added by the composer himself. By 1702 the London publisher Walsh printed a recorder version of these six sonatas, followed in 1707 by sonata nos. 3 and 4. The title bore the extra mention “Artfully transpos’d and fitted to a flute and bass.” The slow movements again featured Italian-style ornaments, labelled “with proper graces by an eminent master.” Ensemble Odyssee takes these popular seventeenth-century sonatas and their surviving ornaments as inspiration, adding its own “graces” in the same spirit to solo and chamber pieces of the time. The audience will enjoy Corelli’s original sonatas and their original arrangements, next to pieces by Bellinzani, Barsanti, Veracini and Handel.

Book via Eventbrite. Tickets £5.00 - £20.00


Further information

Baroque chamber music – Ensemble Odyssee
Back to top of the page